top of page

Considering CMS for assessment in upper elementary


I am exploring the advantages to using content management systems (CMS) for assessment in my upper elementary classroom. I compared three different platforms -- Finalsite, Schoology, and Haiku -- to see how they would support a blended learning environment. There were several critical features I hoped to find in my ideal CMS. Some of the features that helped to guide my selection of a system that fosters quality assessment include, the ability for students to build e-portfolios, quizzes/tests that were created within the system and allowed for feedback, and the ability for students to upload their assignments to a dropbox of some sort. Additional pieces I was interested in included easy upload of video and the option for students to post to discussions. I was in search of these two features specifically so that my math lessons are easily accessible and students can refer to one another for thoughts and questions.

When I initially created the site for my flipped math class, I used the website builder, Weebly. And while I appreciate the freedom it provides when designing an online tool, I found the features that were already incorporated into these content management systems to be of greater use. Having a build-in feature that allows you and your students to blog, to discuss important topics and assignments in a collaborative environment, builds community in the classroom. And when I am able to generate guidelines that will support my students' learning, such as rubrics or checklists, using a pre-established structure, it allows me to spend more time supporting my students and less time reinventing the wheel. These are just a few examples; if you are interested in a close-read of my findings, you can locate my notes here.

Ultimately, I decided to use Schoology to begin transforming my classroom learning environment. Schoology had more features readily available and accessible for teacher use. For example, I am able to view students' login history, which outlines their activity in posts and comments. The User Analytics also allows the teacher to view the amount of time students have actively spent on a page, as well as how many times and how recently each student has viewed the page. As an instructor, this allows me to see how involved each student is in terms of participation, and it would allow me to identify if I should have a conversation with students that were minimally involved.

Another Schoology selling point was the layout of the home base. Schoology allowed me to access many valuable tools from one site, and from one page. I am able to access learning blogs, discussion boards, courses with grade book and assessments, notifications (email, updates by students, or messages from connected professionals), and the drop box areas all quite readily. The drop box tool and online quizzes both me to provide students with faster feedback and input, which allows them to reflect and monitor their understanding more frequently. It is also helpful that these feedback "conversations" are saved for future reference -- to help both teacher and student notice learning trends.

Lastly, I decided that the ability to incorporate programs my students may already be familiar with, such as Google Drive and Dropbox, would present an opportunity for a "friendly" introduction to the site from a student standpoint, When comparing the different discussion forums, I also found Schoology to be most consistent with Facebook conversations, and I though this was just one more way to excited students! I am personally excited to begin developing and exploring Schoology further. Be sure to check back for progress updates.


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page