top of page

Does one CMS fit all?

Welcome to my on-going learning experience using the content management system (CMS), Schoology. Last time you checked in, you may have read about a survey to assess incoming fourth graders’ math disposition. This post is a follow up to share my progress. Schoology is a CMS platform that allows for the easy connection of many assessment tools that can then inform instruction. When I was asked how I was to use Schoology to share the results from this survey with students, I knew that I would like to hold conversations with individual students based on their answers. Pulling up individual student responses is a feature of this platform and makes these conversations possible. But then I thought I’d also like the option of sharing the overall class results with students to spark further discussion. Offering students a "global" image of results is a large benefit of an online assessment, as opposed to pencil and paper. At this time, Schoology provides access to class-wide results while simultaneously sharing student names. This would not be appropriate information to disclose. So, unfortunately, I’m limited in this regard. The fact that aggregated results are not available anonymously led to thinking about a different CMS, possibly Google Classroom.

So now I have a question for you. There are several CMSs available to educators, and it’s important to find one that fits you and your students' needs. Through reflection, I have realized that I am currently still in search of my ideal platform. While I am still looking, it's possible that Schoology would offer all of the features you seek. The following video highlights many of the advantages I have identified in Schoology. Might it be the CMS for you?


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page